Goto Section: 87.169 | 87.173 | Table of Contents

FCC 87.171
Revised as of September 1, 2021
Goto Year:2020 | 2022
  §  87.171   Class of station symbols.

   The two or three letter symbols for the classes of station in the
   aviation services are:

Symbol and class of station

   AX—Aeronautical fixed

   AVW—Audio visual warning systems

   AXO—Aeronautical operational fixed

   DGP—Differential GPS

   DLT—Aircraft data link land test

   FA—Aeronautical land (unspecified)

   FAC—Airport control tower

   FAE—Aeronautical enroute

   FAM—Aeronautical multicom

   FAR—Aeronautical search and rescue

   FAS—Aviation support

   FAT—Flight test

   FAU—Aeronautical advisory (unicom)

   FAW—Automatic weather observation

   GCO—Ground Communication Outlet

   MA—Aircraft (Air carrier and Private)

   MA1—Air carrier aircraft only

   MA2—Private aircraft only

   MOU—Aeronautical utility mobile

   MRT—ELT test

   RCO—Remote Communications Outlet

   RL—Radionavigation land (unspecified)

   RLA—Marker beacon



   RLG—Glide path


   RLO—VHF omni-range

   RLS—Surveillance radar

   RLT—Radionavigation land test

   RLW—Microwave landing system

   RNV—Radio Navigation Land/DME

   RPC—Ramp Control

   TJ—Aircraft earth station in the Aeronautical Mobile-Satellite Service

   UAT—Universal Access Transceiver

   [ 53 FR 28940 , Aug. 1, 1988, as amended at  57 FR 45750 , Oct. 5, 1992;  64 FR 27475 , May 20, 1999;  69 FR 32882 , June 14, 2004;  71 FR 70676 , Dec.
   6, 2006;  76 FR 17351 , Mar. 29, 2011;  78 FR 61206 , Oct. 3, 2013]


Goto Section: 87.169 | 87.173

Goto Year: 2020 | 2022
CiteFind - See documents on FCC website that cite this rule

Want to support this service?

Report errors in this rule. Since these rules are converted to HTML by machine, it's possible errors have been made. Please help us improve these rules by clicking the Report FCC Rule Errors link to report an error.
Helping make public information public