Goto Section: 22.907 | 22.911 | Table of Contents

FCC 22.909
Revised as of September 1, 2021
Goto Year:2020 | 2022
  §  22.909   Cellular markets.

   Cellular Market Areas (CMAs) are standard geographic areas used by the
   FCC for administrative convenience in the licensing of Cellular
   systems. CMAs comprise Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs) and Rural
   Service Areas (RSAs). All CMAs and the counties they comprise are
   listed in: “Common Carrier Public Mobile Services Information, Cellular
   MSA/RSA Markets and Counties,” Public Notice, Rep. No. CL-92-40, 7 FCC
   Rcd 742 (1992).

   (a) MSAs. Metropolitan Statistical Areas are 306 areas, including New
   England County Metropolitan Areas and the Gulf of Mexico Service Area
   (water area of the Gulf of Mexico, border is the coastline), defined by
   the Office of Management and Budget, as modified by the FCC.

   (b) RSAs. Rural Service Areas are 428 areas, other than MSAs,
   established by the FCC.

   [ 59 FR 59507 , Nov. 17, 1994, as amended at  79 FR 72151 , Dec. 5, 2014]


Goto Section: 22.907 | 22.911

Goto Year: 2020 | 2022
CiteFind - See documents on FCC website that cite this rule

Want to support this service?

Report errors in this rule. Since these rules are converted to HTML by machine, it's possible errors have been made. Please help us improve these rules by clicking the Report FCC Rule Errors link to report an error.
Helping make public information public